Hummingbirds Rule

I like to look out my backdoor and watch my chickens and the many creatures that make themselves at home in our backyard. Seeing all the creatures in my yard can really help my mood and make me smile. Putting up a hummingbird feeder right outside the door has been a wonderfully entertaining treat.

I give the birds my sugar-water and love seeing how they enjoy my sweet treat for them. Sugar-water really is the way to go. The hummingbirds love it and it is better for them then the standard stuff that you can buy.  To make the sugar water just do a four to one ratio of water to sugar. Mix everything together and bring to a boil.  I usually do one cup of water and 1/4 cup of sugar.

I work to make them feel comfortable by making slow movements as I watch them so that they are not scared away. One day when I was feeding my chickens treats, I heard a buzzing above my head and when I looked up, I saw one of my little friends. That made my day. Sometimes they will hover at the door looking in at me and I can’t help but smile at that too.

Hummingbirds are feisty little creatures. I constantly see them chasing each other. They are always putting on a show. They truly are one of nature’s fascinating creatures. If you need a good pick me up, I highly recommend welcoming these little birds into your yard. They are great entertainment and therapy.

© Faithful Homesteader 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Faithful Homesteader with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “Hummingbirds Rule

  1. Ora Lee Gurr

    What a beautiful article. We have feisty hummingbirds here, too. Thanks for the link to this inspirational site!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

