Buying Organic Meat on a Budget

In my household, we have made a shift to buying organic meats. I really have a big concern for keeping my family healthy and minimizing GMO’s (Genetically Modified Organisms) and other bad things in our food. It is not an easy switch because of the great cost difference and we are definitely a family on a tight budget. However, I never buy the meat unless it is on sale or already reasonably priced. When it is on sale, I buy several packages.

Every so often Aldi’s has a great deal on organic grass-fed ground beef. I am always on the look out for this and usually buy at least four. In my area, it is usually $4.49 a pound. To stretch my budget even further, I divide the package into four servings and use just ¼ pound of meat for most meals. I stretch four packages into sixteen meals. In the past, this would have been only four meals. The quarter pound works just fine in casserole dishes and spaghetti. I make these often because they are cheap and easy meals.

I like Trader Joe’s, Sprouts, and Natural Grocers for good deals on organic and non-GMO chicken. Even though I prefer white meat, I stick with organic chicken legs and thighs to make things more affordable. I can usually find organic chicken legs for $1.99-$2.99 a pound. If I can make multiple meals out of a package of chicken, I will do so. Sometimes I make chicken thighs into ground chicken using my Vitamix. This helps me stretch out the chicken for multiple meals.

Between looking for good sales on organic meat and making multiple meals out of a package, I get a great sense of accomplishment from my frugal ways. I feel so much better to be feeding high quality food to my family. I get almost giddy knowing I am making these wise and thrifty choices.

The author has no material connection to any person, company, product, or service mentioned in this post.

© Faithful Homesteader 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Faithful Homesteader with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

