My Non-GMO Journey

The press about genetically modified (GMO) foods has led me on a journey to seek out non-GMO options. I wanted to share what I have learned about GMOs and name some of my favorite non-GMO products.  I really became a label reader when I first noticed the Non-GMO Project Verified label. This label led me to pay a lot more attention to the foods that I buy that may be genetically modified.

A list of companies that are part of this project can be found at the Non-GMO Project website. They do third party testing of foods for GMOs. Even big name companies have products enrolled with the project, but my loyalty is with companies that support GMO labeling and many do not.

Being a Label Reader

Canola oil usually comes from GMO sources.  When I buy products made with canola oil, I make sure the label says that it is non-GMO canola oil. I noticed such a label on Udi’s Gluten Free bread and it made me feel better about the product. I am more apt to use Olive and Coconut oil, but many processed foods use Canola oil.

My favorite natural soda Zevia is labeled as non-GMO and I like this alternative to the high fructose corn syrup that is in regular sodas. Regular soda has a high probability of being genetically modified because of the high fructose corn syrup. I have recently discovered Beanitos bean chips and they have quickly become one of my favorite non-GMO foods. Nature’s Path Organic Waffles are Non-GMO Project verified and this gives me confidence in the product when it comes to GMOs.

Educating Myself

Zucchini is a staple in my household and I was surprised to learn that squash and zucchini were high risks crops. Now unless it is from our garden, I will seek the organic varieties of these vegetables. Organic foods are not supposed to contain GMOs.

For my lifestyle, the products I am the most concerned about are any with corn, soy, and canola. I will watch labels carefully when it comes to these ingredients. According to the Non-GMO Project website, animal products like milk, meat, eggs, and honey are at risk because of contamination in feed. It certainly is disheartening to me when I read of such things.

I am happy that some companies that sell animal products are enrolled in the Non-GMO Project and more companies are starting to use non-GMO feed for their animals. I certainly buy non-GMO food for my animals.

I still have a lot to learn about GMOs, but I will do what I can do to limit my exposure to GMOs. Companies that help me on my journey towards non-GMO options and that support GMO labeling will have me as a loyal customer. I would love to hear from you about your journey.

Sources: www.nongmoproject.org

The author has no material connection to any person, company, product, or service mentioned in this post.

© Faithful Homesteader 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Faithful Homesteader with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

