Fiction or Non-fiction? That is the Question

The Great Divide Daily Prompt has me thinking about reading fiction and non-fiction. It asks about the preference between the two when it comes to reading for fun. I cannot exclusively pick one over the other because it really depends on my mood and motivation for reading.

Learning is fun for me and my favorite subject to study is the Bible. Sometimes a book about a given subject about the Bible will draw me in and I get intense enjoyment from it. If it deepens my study of the Bible, it excites me and that is great fun. My love for this subject is what inspired me to start my Faithful Devotionals blog.

Occasionally I am drawn to read fiction and that is a different kind of fun. There is something wonderful about escaping into the world of a good book. I love to be drawn in by stories with characters that make me care about them. On occasion, I may even imagine myself in that world. I love to escape the daily grind.

Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres. The last book I read was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. The book takes place during the Holocaust. The story is uniquely told from the perspective of Death. I found myself lost in this world with special characters and  several relationships that moved me greatly. Some truly precious moments were found in the pages of this book with such a serious subject. I had not read a fiction novel in a good while, but this one was definitely worth my time. I do highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Fiction or Non-fiction? That is the Question

  1. Caroline

    I’ve been reading some of the many Great Divide posts and came across yours. It prompted me to comment because you seem to love reading the same kind of things I do – non-fiction to help learn and discover new things, historical fiction for fun and escapism and then the Bible – my daily bread! I have The Book Thief in my ‘books to read next pile’ – I’m looking forward to it knowing someone with similar reading preferences has already enjoyed it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

