Nature’s Original Wheat – Einkorn

I love my bread and I wouldn’t want to live without my sandwiches, but I have been disheartened by all the negative press about wheat.  I have a hard time thinking that a food that has been a staple for so many generations could be that bad for you. I recently found a wheat product that I am excited to add to my diet.

I have heard wheat referred to as franken-wheat and about hybridization that has negatively affected today’s wheat. I find Gluten free options for bread too expensive so I was intrigued when I found a flour from Italy made with einkorn. The claim is that it is “nature’s original wheat” and the only one that has never been hybridized.

It is touted as a healthy alternative to modern wheat.  For me this is worth trying. According to the label on the Jovial flour package, einkorn wheat is as pure today as 12,000 years ago. I have also read that this may be easier to digest than other types of wheat.

I am excited to add this to my diet and I have noticed that it is showing up in more of my favorite health food stores. I have found it at Whole Foods and Natural Grocers. Jovial is the brand that I have seen for the einkorn flour and I even bought a box of the einkorn pasta.  It is not super cheap, but I for my lifestyle it seems more economical than the gluten free options and I am always on the look out for sales.

Have you tried einkorn wheat? What is your experience with it?

Please follow  Faithful Homesteader on Facebook.  We are always ready to make new friends and continue to dialogue.

Sources: http://www.einkorn.com/

The author has no material connection to any person, company, product, or service mentioned in this post.

10 thoughts on “Nature’s Original Wheat – Einkorn

  1. The Zero-Waste Chef

    I tried Einkorn wheat in my sourdough and it didn’t turn out (not enough gluten) but it seems fine for other baking. I used up the rest in my cracker dough which I am about to roll out and bake 🙂 Many people think they are gluten intolerant, but I think they are actually bad-bread intolerant. Most commercial bread isn’t fermented like a real sourdough is, so the grains are hard to digest.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Patti in TX

      I made the sourdough bread in the bread machine and was alerted that it wouldn’t rise( fine by me). It was really dense, really good and gone in 2 days. Toasted with real butter and kosher salt. I’ve started another batch

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

