Chicken Bath – A Rookie’s Story

After our pretty, fluffy butt chicken became the dirty butt chicken, I knew it was time to attempt to give her a bath. I really hoped that she would do the job herself with a dirt bath. I saw her and our other chicken taking a dirt bath and I attempted to toss some dirt in her bum area in an effort to help. I also tried just spraying her butt with water. None of these efforts yielded any results so bath time it was.

We tried to get a before picture, but she was not cooperating.

We tried to get a before picture, but she was not cooperating.

I don’t even own a hair dryer so now I am buying a hair dryer for a chicken. It is interesting how life changes with chickens. I never signed up for any of this, but here it is. Our chickens do not like to be handled so I knew not to attempt bath time without the help of my husband. We got our two pans of lukewarm water and readied the hair dryer. We used our natural dish soap for the occasion. It was my husband’s job to hold her. He is much better at that than I am. That left me the unfortunate job of cleaning yucky poo off the chicken. I certainly never imagined myself doing that and I am not a mother to any humans so it is not as if I have a lot of experience in this area. It was definitely not pleasant, but it was necessary. I do try to be a good chicken mama.

My husband was able to keep a good handle on her.

My husband was able to keep a good handle on her.

Our girl made some crying noises and did try to escape, but my husband did a good job of holding her and keeping her fairly calm. Our other chicken, that I affectionately call the little chick, made some noises too. I don’t think she liked that we were putting the big chick through that whole ordeal or maybe she was just worried that she would be next.

Time to style this thing.

Time to style this thing.

The final step was drying her off. It just seemed so strange to me that I was standing there blow drying a chicken. It made me think of the commercial with the woman blow drying the chicken and talking about fluffy eggs. I have entered a new phase in being a chicken mama. I just need our girl to stay clean. It was nice to see her dirty butt go back to her usual fluffy butt. I did that :-). Have you had to give your chickens a bath? How was the experience? Please follow  Faithful Homesteader on Facebook.  We are always ready to make new friends and share experiences.

Shared on Rooster sitting in a barn on a rural farm  CleverChicksBlogHop200x200_zps22d0429a simple-saturdays-bw-150

© Faithful Homesteader 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Faithful Homesteader with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
13 thoughts on “Chicken Bath – A Rookie’s Story

  1. sleepinghorse

    I had to do the same thing a few weeks ago. Like you, I had never done it before and so out it off for far too long. I laughed at your story of trying to help the dust bath but throwing the dirt in that general direction. I ended up clipping feathers away from that area on my girl as she does runny pooh and I didn’t want to have to clean her up again any time soon. Wel, done and thanks for sharing your story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Lisa from Iroquois

    Love your story. Have never had to bathe any of our chickens but our cat has become loose bowelled as she ages and frequently needs her butt bathed. When that happens I fill the bathroom sink with tepid water, remove everything within claw range and shut the door behind us. I only have to sink her hind end into the water and make her stay there for a couple minutes because I do it so regularly these days. Thank goodness she is not a scratcher, but she is a growler and a squirmer and I often end up as wet as she is.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Jen Hen

        You are correct in that! We used to have to give our cat a flea dip every so often back before the very convenient drops for the back of the neck were available. Seems a chicken would be much easier with less claws and teeth. lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. canaf Post author

      Thanks! There were a couple of times that I thought the chicken was egg bound, but she pulled through. She would lay some awfully big eggs.

      Glad you were able to get the ducks through it and you survived too :-).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Jen Hen

    I haven’t given a full-grown chicken a bath yet, but I had to bathe one of my baby chicks for pasty butt. That was super easy. She really seemed to enjoy it, even closing her eyes as I soaked her in the warm water and used the blow dryer on her. lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

