My Tai Chi Experience

In the past year, I have dealt with shoulder bursitis and whiplash. That has all been added to the chronic pain that I have dealt with for years. I am always looking for good ways to be active that fit with my health limitations. I looked into Tai Chi after I read that it could be beneficial for chronic pain and bursitis. It just seemed like it was meant to be when I saw that there were classes offered at my local library.

I went to my first class in May and took my husband with me. I am intimidated in new environments and Tai Chi just seemed like such a different world for me. I was glad for some moral support. I always thought about taking a martial arts class, but really didn’t think it would be a good fit for me. The Tai Chi gives me the chance to study a form of martial arts, but in a less aggressive manner.

The gentle movements work for me and I have been able to keep up with it because it is not too hard on my body. It has taken me some time to get to the point of being able to practice the Tai Chi on my own at home. I think that has hindered me from being able to see dramatic improvement in the beginning. Now I am actively doing the moves at home even twice a day and I am excited to see what benefits it will yield.

I really try to soak up everything I can about the moves and how they affect different parts of the body. There are moves that help digestion, balance, metabolism and the heart just to name a few. I am intrigued by the eastern mindset and healing the body in a more natural way.

The whole concept of Tai Chi is foreign to me and I do struggle with slowing down and clearing my mind. Meditation does not come easy for me, but I really do want to achieve overall health and that includes my mental well-being. I am less stressed and a little calmer since I have started the Tai Chi.

I just recently started practicing Tai Chi outdoors and it is really great to soak up the beauty of nature. It is relaxing and I even spend a little time barefoot. I have heard about the benefits of that too, but I am not one to run around outside that way. I am excited to continue my journey with the Tai Chi.

I would love for you to join me on Facebook. I also blog for GRIT magazine.

4 thoughts on “My Tai Chi Experience

  1. Michele (Shelly) Starkey

    I’ve always wanted to try this ~ now that we have a ‘place in the woods’ I think it will be easier to do. If I start doing Tai Chi in my backyard at home, the neighbors will think I’m nuts (or just more nuts!) LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My Bowflex Workout | Faithful Homesteader

  3. Pingback: How Kung Fu Movies Inspire My Workouts | Faithful Homesteader

Leave a Reply

