How I Felt After 30 Days of Paleo

I never thought that I would try a Paleo diet. However, I heard that it could be a good anti-inflammatory diet. I suffer with major digestive issues and chronic pain. I was optimistic about feeling better and getting rid of my daily bloating. The results were not what I had hoped they would be.

As the 30 days went by, I kept waiting to feel better, but I never did. One positive thing that came from the 30 days was me losing 10 pounds. I have to say that did feel good. It felt so good in fact that I have not fully abandoned the plan because I want to lose more weight.

I didn’t eat out much on the plan because I really wanted to stay on track. I gave up my legumes, dairy, grains, sugar and soy. It was not easy, but I was focused. I do like that I was eating more real food and preparing it myself. I was always focused on eating food that tasted good.

I tried some things like making plantain bread and cauliflower rice. I never had plantains previously. I became a fan of coconut aminos in place of soy sauce. I like that it has so much less sodium. I love the flavor. I like to sauté my broccoli in it. Since we have so much growing in my garden, I was eating asparagus practically every day.

As I mentioned above, I have not been able to abandon the plan totally. I am eating better and I am on such a high from the weight and inches lost. I am fitting into clothes that I have not been able to wear in at least a few years. I want to continue. What I am focusing on now is cutting out more foods that could be contributing to my issues.

The last couple of days, I have been reading about a Paleo Autoimmune Protocol. It is much stricter version of Paleo. If I went with that, I would have to cut out nightshades like peppers, tomatoes and potatoes. Eggs, seeds and nuts would also be out on this program. Before I think about going that strict, I am going to cutout just the nightshades and eggs for a time.

I really hope that I don’t have to give up tomatoes for the rest of my life. I definitely cannot imagine a diet without my beloved spaghetti and pizza. I have been just fine with some Paleo versions of those. When I first started the plan, I figured I would start adding food back into my diet at the end of the 30 days, but since I have not felt any better that plan has changed.

I do hope I can find a way to feel better. One thing that I would say about my Paleo experience is that I am finding it harder to just go back to eating junk food. I didn’t eat all badly before, but I certainly ate out a lot and that rarely makes for total clean eating.

I don’t know what I will come up with that will make me feel better and actually keep the weight off for good. However, I do want to keep it clean. I like keeping GMOs and chemicals out of my diet. The way I think about food and eating has definitely changed for the better.

Information on the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol

https://www.thepaleomom.com/start-here/the-autoimmune-protocol/

4 thoughts on “How I Felt After 30 Days of Paleo

  1. Jill Barlow

    I read your article in Grit today about growing hibiscus. I could not find any way to comment so ive come here hoping you will see it here. I too am growing the same hibiscus as you but was disheartened to read you were using the spent flowers to make tea. Thats so not right!. You dont use the flowers! Lol you use the dark red seed pods! The flowersnare useless and its no wonder they didnt have much flavor. Wait a few days after the flower falls off to pick the pods as they plump up. You can eat them straight off the bush too! Search this out on the web as well as recipes for jelly. I hope you get the chanoto taste real hibiscus tea before its too late!

    Like

    Reply
    1. canaf Post author

      Thank you for the information. I am seeing some things about the leaves, but also what you mention. I appreciate you reaching out :-). My husband is the one who usually drinks hibiscus, but usually just what we buy at the store. That is the reference point for taste. Hope you have a great day!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

